AT LEAST three members of the Underground Mass Organization (Uugmo) have surrendered and denounced their affiliation with the rebel groups in Leyte.

Brigadier General Rommel Francisco Marbil, director of Police Regional Office-Eastern Visayas, identified the Ugmo members as alias Pablo, 44, a resident of Tacloban City; alias Toy-toy, 42, of Capoocan, Leyte; and alias Ryan, 37, of Tacloban.

They voluntarily surrendered to the authorities in Jaro, Leyte on September 22, 2022.

“We commend the continued efforts of our men on the ground paving the way to the surrender of more members or allies of the communist terrorist group significant in our quest for peace in the Region,” Marbil said.

According to the police official, the Ugmo members decided to disaffiliate their membership to the said rebel group “to renew their allegiance to the government.”

The composite team who facilitated the negotiations included personnel from 2nd Leyte Provincial Mobile Force Company led by Lieutenant Colonel Ronie Siriban, Leyte Police Provincial Office-Provincial Intelligence Unit (LPPO-PIU) led by Lieutenant Colonel Dinvir Revita, and Pastrana Municipal Police Station led by Major Darwin Dalde, under the direct supervision of LPPO director Colonel Edwin Balles. (SunStar Philippines)