DAVAO City will give P53.3 million worth of financial assistance and welfare goods to 27 municipalities, cities, and provinces that were affected by disasters and calamities.

“Naay daghan nga mga areas nga naka-experience og calamities tungod sa effect of typhoons, not only Paeng but before pa ana, naa pa gyud earthquake (There were several areas in the country that have been affected by natural calamities like eathquakes and typhoones),” Davao City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Office (CDRRMO) Head Alfredo Baluran said in an interview on November 8, 2022.

The city will be releasing financial assistance worth P14.3 million to the 27 local government units (LGUs).

Two LGUs affected by a 6.4 magnitude earthquake on October 25, 2022 will receive a total of P1.3 million. Around P1 million will go to the provincial government of Ilocos Norte while the municipal government of Lagayan in Abra will receive P300,000.

Four local government units (LGUs) that were affected by Typhoon Maymay in October, will be receiving financial assistance worth P1.6 million. Around P1 million will go to the provincial government of Cagayan and P300,000 each for the municipalities of Allacapan and Santa Praxedes. The province of Cagayan and the municipality of Santa Praxedes were also affected by Typhoon Neneng, which also made landfall in October.

Six other LGUs affected by Typhoon Neneng will receive total assistance of P2.5 million. The Provice of Ilocos Norte will receive P1 million while the municipalities of Claveria, Sta. Ana, and Sanchez-Mira in Cagayan; Adams in Ilocos Norte; and Calanasan in Apayao will each receive P300,000.

Nine LGUs affected by Typhoon Paeng in October will receive assistance worth P6.5 million. Four provinces will be receiving P1 million each – Maguindanao, Albay, Aklan, and Cavite – while five cities – Cotabato City, Calbayog City, Zamboanga City, and San Pedro City and Biñan City in Laguna – will each be receiving P500,000.

Seven other municipalities affected by Typhoon Paeng will also receive P300,000 each. These municipalities are Upi and Parang in Maguindanao; Sebaste in Antique; Hilongos in Leyte; Mogpog in Marinduque; Dao in Capiz; Amulung in Cagayan; and Pigcawayan in North Cotabato.

The remaining P39 million of the total assistance for the LGUs will go to welfare goods (P30 million), fuel, oil, and lubricants (P5 million), traveling expenses (P2 million), and other expenses (P2 million).

According to Davao City Councilor Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz, Chairperson of the committee on finance, ways and means, and appropriations, the city still has a disaster fund of P120,575,875. KSD