EIGHT New People’s Army (NPA) rebels have voluntarily surrendered to government authorities in the province of North Cotabato, the police reported Friday, November 25, 2022.

Police Colonel Richard Verceles, operations chief of the Area Police Command-Western Mindanao, said the eight NPA rebels surrendered to the 1203rd Mobile Company of the Regional Mobile Force Battalion-Soccsksargen Wednesday, November 23, in Poblacion village, Makilala, North Cotabato.

Verceles identified the eight NPA surrenderers as follows: Randy Nalugod, 27; Junrey Kalimpitan, 37; Gilbert Emba, 31; Win Mark Lopez, 30; Arthur Binoya, 21; Ronnie Awag, 50; William Cudog, 37; and Janel Engco, 43.

All of the eight NPA surrenderers are ranking members and followers of the NPA’s Far-South Mindanao Region committee.

Verceles said they turned over one M-14 rifle and one M-16 Armalite rifle.

He said they were placed under the custody of the 1203rd Mobile Company for debriefing and documentation. (SunStar Zamboanga)