Manangquil wins ‘Manager of the Year’ in Elorde Awards

Manangquil wins ‘Manager of the Year’ in Elorde Awards

SANMAN Boxing’s chief executive officer Jim Claude Manangquil was named “Manager of the Year” by the annual Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards in its return after a three-year absence due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The young boxing manager and promoter will receive his award on March 25 at the Okada Manila.

Manangquil has already won “Promoter of the Year” twice. He has also won numerous awards from different bodies, including World Boxing Council (WBC) Asia Promoter of the Year three times, Oriental and Pacific Boxing Federation Promoter of the Year and Games and Amusements Board Manager of the Year.

Manangquil has been in the boxing business for quite some time now. He started when he was 15 years old. He has built a talented roster of fighters that include current WBC minimumweight champion Melvin Jerusalem, Marlon Tapales, Reymart Gaballo, Jeo Santisima, Esneth Domingo, KJ Cataraja, Randy Petalcorin, Mike Plania, Jade Bornea and Dave Apolinario.

“I am very grateful to the Elordes for this honor. Most of all I thank my boxers for giving me this honor. They have entrusted their lives and careers to me and it is my joy and pride to see them climb up in their career accomplishments. I also thank the fans who have always been supportive of all the events Sanman. Special mention of course to my partners at Sanman, ZipSanman, Moro Fernandez and, of course, Sean Gibbons whom I owe a lot. In all these victories, to God always be the glory!” Manangquil said in a statement.

Manangquil has kept boxing alive, even during the pandemic, with his boxing bubble series.

The 23rd Edition of the Elorde Awards recognizes the best Filipino boxers in the past three years.

Future boxing hall-of-famers Manny Pacquiao and Nonito Donaire Jr. headline the list of awardees with a special award for their contributions to Philippine boxing.

Seven boxers will be awarded “Boxer of the Year,” namely Jerwin Ancajas, Johnriel Casimero, Apolinario, Vic Saludar, Pedro Taduran, Rene Mark Cuarto and Mark Magsayo.

From the amateur ranks, Eumir Marcial, Nesthy Petecio and Carlo Paalam will be recognized for winning medals in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. (EKA)


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.