Gentle Giants’ title run ends

Gentle Giants’  title run ends

KAYA FC-Iloilo didn’t need to play its final match of the season after being declared the 2023 Philippines Football League champion on May 24, 2023 following a scoreless draw between Cebu FC and Stallion Laguna at the Dynamic Herb Sports Stadium in Talisay City, Cebu.

Kaya FC led the league by two points coming into Cebu FC’s final match. Kaya FC had 52 points, while Cebu had 50.

If Cebu FC had won, Kaya FC would have needed at least a draw with Stallion FC in its last scheduled match on May 27 to win the title.

Cebu FC had lots of chances to beat Stallion FC in front of a hometown crowd.

However, Stallion FC goalkeeper Patrick Deyto, who once represented Cebu with Global Cebu FC, had a superb performance and denied everything that The Gentle Giants threw at him.

In the end, Deyto did an amazing job and held Cebu FC scoreless, ending its title run.

Kaya FC will get an outright spot in the group stage of the AFC Champions League. Cebu FC and Stallion FC are off to the lower tier AFC Cup.

Despite falling short, Cebu FC still had an impressive campaign with 15 wins, six draws and a loss. (EKA)


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.