MORE than 11,200 families were affected by Typhoon Betty (Mawar) in four regions in the country, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) said on Tuesday, May 30, 2023.

In a situational report, the NDRRMC said a total of 2,859 families or 11,264 individuals were affected by the typhoon particularly in 55 barangays in Cagayan Valley, Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR), Western Visayas and Central Luzon.

It said 877 families or 3,483 persons were inside evacuation centers, while 112 families or 381 individuals are temporarily staying either with friends or relatives.

The disaster bureau said three road sections in CAR were impassable, but debris was already cleared as of Tuesday.

Flooding was also recorded in Western Visayas.

In CAR, three power interruptions occurred, but two were already restored.

The NDRRMC said 104 domestic and 17 international flights to and from the affected areas were cancelled due to bad weather.

It said 222 passengers and 122 rolling cargoes were also stranded in sea ports in Eastern Visayas.

Two houses in Central Luzon were reported to have incurred damage due to the effects of Betty.

The NDRRMC said a total of P1,897,764 worth of food and non-food relief items have already been distributed to the affected population.

In its 11 a.m. Tuesday update, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said Betty has maintained its strength as it hovered west northwestward over the sea east of Batanes.

The center of the typhoon was spotted at 315 kilometers east of Basco, Batanes with maximum sustained winds of 150 kilometers per hour (km/h), gusts of up to 185 km/h, and central pressure of 955 hPa. It was moving west northwestward at 10 km/h.

Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal (TCWS) Number 2 was hoisted over Batanes and the northeastern portion of Cagayan (Santa Ana, Gonzaga) including Babuyan Islands, while under TCWS Number 1 are the rest of mainland Cagayan, the northern and eastern portions of Isabela (Santo Tomas, Santa Maria, Quezon, San Mariano, Dinapigue, Delfin Albano, San Pablo, Ilagan City, Benito Soliven, Tumauini, Cabagan, Palanan, Quirino, Divilacan, Gamu, Maconacon, Naguilian, Mallig), the eastern portion of Ilocos Norte (Piddig, Bangui, Vintar, Marcos, Pagudpud, Banna, Adams, Carasi, Dingras, Solsona, Dumalneg, Nueva Era), Apayao, the northern portion of Kalinga (City of Tabuk, Balbalan, Pinukpuk, Rizal), and the northeastern portion of Abra (Tineg, Lacub, Malibcong).

The weather disturbance is expected to exit the Philippine area of responsibility on late Thursday (June 1) or Friday early morning (June 2). (SunStar Philippines)