FORMER Ronda town mayor Esteban Sia was the wealthiest among municipal mayors of Cebu, according to the Statements of Assets, Liabilities and Net Worth (SALNs) for 2009 released yesterday by the Office of the Ombudsman-Visayas.

But the top two richest vice mayors have more wealth than the two richest mayors.

Click here for Election 2010 updates

Sia had a net worth of P16.8 million based on his 2009 SALN submitted to the anti-graft office last April 30. He has no liability as Dec. 31, 2009.

Twenty-two mayors still have not submitted their 2009 SALNs to the ombudsman's office.

The anti-graft office released the SALNs of 31 mayors, who complied with the law.

The bulk of Sia's wealth is composed of real properties totaling P8.5 million, including two lots in Cebu City (P3 million), a farm in Ronda (P500,000), a house in Davao (P3.5 million) and a property in Pinamu-ngajan (P1 million).

Sia also listed several properties in the US, including a residential house in Anaheim, California worth $550,000).

Sia declared owning seven vehicles in the US totaling $168,000, including a 1999 Honda Accord ($25,000), 2003 Honda Accord ($30,000), 2004 Toyota truck ($20,000), 2006 Toyota truck ($35,000), Ford Focus ($18,000), Toyota ($18,000) and Crosswind ($22,000).

Sia listed his cousin, Aloguinsan Mayor Cynthia Moreno, as his lone relative working in government.

Former Alegria Mayor Raul Guisado followed Sia in the list with a total net worth of P16 million.

The bulk of Guisado's net worth is mostly real properties totaling P12,750,000.

His properties, among others, included a building in Barangay Capitol Site, Cebu City (P6 million), a lot in Toledo City (P2.5 million), a parcel of lot in Barangay Capitol Site (P1.5 million) and an agricultural lot in Barangay Madridejos, Alegria (P1.2 million).

Guisado also listed personal and other properties amounting to about P3.3 million, which included an Isuzu D-Max (P1 million), Chevrolet Opra Sedan (P850,000), Nissan Urban (P700,000), Toyota Tamaraw (P200,000), Toyota Hi-Ace (P300,000), Chariot pickup type (100,000) and Honda motorcycle (P55,000).


Third in rank is reelected Borbon Mayor Bernard Sepulveda with a net worth of P15 million, while reelected Argao Mayor Edsel Galeos is fourth with P12.7 million.

Other town mayors whose SALNs were released by the anti-graft office were Medellin Mayor Ricardo Ramirez (P12.1 million), Tabuelan Mayor Rex Casiano Gerona (P12.2 million), Malabuyoc Mayor Daisy Creus (11.3 million), former mayor Balamban Mayor Alex Binghay (P11.2 million), Compostela Mayor Ritchie Wagas (P10.8 million), San Remegio Mayor Mariano Martinez (P9.3 million), Carmen Mayor Sonia Pua (P7.9 million), Boljoon Mayor Deogenes Derama (P6.7 million) and San Francisco Mayor Alfredo Arquillano (P6.2 million).

The others who declared their net worth were Sogod Mayor Lissa Marie Durano (P5.9 million), Sibonga Mayor Lionel Bacaltos (P4.9 million), Poro Mayor Edgar Rama (P4.4 million), Ginatilan Mayor Dean Michael Singco (P3.8 million), Aloguinsan Mayor Cynthia Moreno (P3.6 million), former Consolacion Mayor Avelino Gungob (P3.1 million) and Sta. Fe Mayor Jennifer Ilustrisimo (P2.5 million).


The others who submitted their SALNS were Badian Mayor Carmencita Lumain (P2.1 million), Catmon Mayor Estrella Aribal (P1.6 million), Pilar Mayor Jesus Fernandez (P1.5 million), Alcantara Mayor Benjamin Lobitana (P1.1 million), former Dumanjug Mayor Cesar Baricuatro (P1.02 million), Oslob Mayor Ronald Guaren (P969, 000), Tabogon Mayor Eusebio Dungog (P380, 000) and Cordova Mayor Adelino Sitoy (P192,737).

Of the 18 vice mayors whose SALNs were released yesterday by the anti-graft office, Argao Vice Mayor Azucena Sesaldo

was the richest with a net worth of P30.6 million followed by Medellin Vice Mayor Michael Miranda who posted P25 million.


The other vice mayors were who declared their net worth were Alegria Vice Mayor Gilberto Magallon (P11 million), Carmen Vice Mayor Martin Gerard Villamor (P9.6 million), San Francisco Vice Mayor Allan Arquillano (P3.960 million), Ronda Vice Mayor Mariano Blanco (P3.8 million), Aloguinsan Vice Mayor Augustus Ceasar Moreno (P3.6 million), Balamban Vice Mayor Ace Stefan Binghay (P2.6 million) and Barili Vice Mayor Ramon Ewican (P1.9 million).

The other who submitted their SALNs were Minglanilla Vice Mayor Elanito Pena (P1.7 million), Alcoy Vice Mayor Antonio Plando (P1.8 million), Alcantara Vice Mayor Margarito Basilisco (P1.2 million), Sta. Fe Vice Mayor Adoracion Cabrera (P964,732), Ginatilan Vice Mayor Jose Ramon Gornez (P622,500), Borbon Vice Mayor Neal Vergara (P280,000), Samboan Vice Mayor Rogelio Capa (P375,000), Consolacion Vice Mayor Ember Alinsug (P51,000), Tabogon Vice Mayor Felix Catam-isan (P25,000).(GMD)