FOUR public schools in the region were recently named The Outstanding Watch Schools (Tows) for school year 2009-2010.

Watch (We Advocate Time Consciousness and Honesty) is a joint values advocacy movement between JCI Senate Philippines in partnership of the Department of Education (DepEd), Commission on Higher Education, Technical Education and Skills Development Authority, and the Office of the President for Education.

Click here for Election 2010 updates

Supported by DepEd-Davao Regional Director Susana Teresa Estigoy, heads of four public schools here received their awards during the celebration of the First Anniversary Project of Watch at the Ballroom Hall, Bayview Park Hotel, Manila last June 10, DepEd-Davao Region Public Information Officer Lorenzo Mendoza said Friday.

Magugpo Pilot Central Elementary School (MPCES) of Tagum City Division, under the supervision of School Division Superintendent Nenita Lumaas and EPS in Makabayan Antonia Bugna, named the country's best punctuality and honesty advocate, awarded first prize for the nationwide search for outstanding Watch school.

From Davao City, Don Manuel Gutierrez Elementary School received second place and Paaralang Elementarya ng Salvacion in Panabo City, Davao del Norte, ang Guihing Central Elementary School in Davao del Sur followed after, completing the Tows top awards.

According to DepEd Special Events unit head Luzviminda Dela Rosa, five schools in country emerged as the best, the top four of which are from the region.

There were 21 schools that vied for the national search out of hundreds of school districts, division, and regional levels in the country, Mendoza said.

"It is with great pride and humility that our schools received such recognition. It brings honor to receive such awards for advocating the significance of time consciousness and instilling the value of honesty among the students and faculties," Mendoza said.

Also, receiving the grand prize during the ceremony were MPCES principal Gregorio Acebedo and Maria Acebedo, school Watch coordinator. (Jade C. Zaldivar)