AUSTIN Jacob Literatus of Davao City will join a lean-but-mean Philippine team that will compete in the 2010 Asian Youth Chess Championships set on July 8 to 15 in Beijing, China.

Literatus, who hails from Toril, earned a Beijing stint for bagging two gold medals and one silver in the boys under-14 event of the recent Asean+ Age-Group Chess Championships held in Subic.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) regional director James Infiesto, confirmed the news but said the Doña Carmen Denia National High School sophomore is still preparing his travel documents.

"We will know by Tuesday if he is able to comply with all the necessary requirements for the trip," Infiesto told Sun.Star Davao in a text message over the weekend.

Literatus will join the cast led by RP junior champion Paulo Bersamina and Jan Nigel Galan. Completing the country's roster are FM Haridas Pascua, Haince Patrick de Leon and Julius Gonzales along with WFM Christy Lamiel Bernales, Jan Jodilyn Fronda, Janelle Mae Frayna, Shanie Mae Mendoza and Jesca Docena.

National youth training director IM Ildefonso Datu will be the head coach of the Filipinos.

The Beijing event jointly organized by the Chinese Chess Association and the Jinma Chess Club (China) is sanctioned by the Asian Chess Federation.

ED Ang beat elimination round leader Sammy Talaboc in two straight games to capture the Datba Lanemasters Monthly Finals crown at the NCCC Mall B3 Lanes over the weekend.

Ang pocketed a cash prize of P3,000 and a trophy while Talaboc settled for the P2,000 runner-up prize. Next two placers Romy Tocop and Paquito Santos went home with P1,000 and P700, respectively.

Talaboc topped the six-game series by hitting a total of 1,189 pinfalls followed by Ang (1,188), Tocop (1,185), Santos (1,178) and Joshua Disuacido (1,171).

In the shootout games, Ang prevailed over his rivals to arrange a titular showdown with Talaboc.

In the weekly qualifying singles tournament, Thomas Convoy emerged champion in the meet organized by the Davao Tenpin Bowlers Association (Datba) under Virgilio "Billy" Magdale. (MLSA)