CEBU’s top cyclist Niño Surban expressed his disappointment over the qualifying tournament that will determine the team for the Asian Games set this July 25 in Subic.

“Humana unta ang trial, trial nasad,” Surban said.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

Surban already made it to the RP team and has been training for the Asian Games, but the two warring factions decided to unite and hold another qualifying race to determine the RP team members. Surban felt it was unfair.

The RP team members will have to go through another set of trials, including Surban.

Last June, RP chief de mission Joey Romasanta appealed for the two cycling factions of Mike Romero and Abraham Tolentino to have a unified cycling body and hold a qualifying race participated by cyclists of both groups to determine the riders who will represent the country in the Asiad.

In 2009, the team of Romero was barred by the Southeast Asian Games organizers from joining because they were not recognized by the international cycling governing body, a scenario they want to avoid in the Asian Games.

Last Sunday, Surban proved he is still Cebu’s top cyclist when he ruled the elite division of the Omega Pain Killer-Philam Mountainbike extreme circuit challenge in Barangay Tisa.

Surban, who decided at the last minute to join the race, overpowered his opponents after finishing the course in nine minutes, 22.18 seconds.

Surban had not planned on joining but suddenly showed up before the start. The other riders started off strong but in the fifth lap, Surban zoomed to the front of the pack.

John Mier checked into the finish line two minutes later, while Albert Basirgo came in third with a time of 9:57.

In the Junior division, Elmer Navarro, Delfin Delfin and Julius Diez took the top three spots.

The top three in the veterans category are Joseph Miller, Dennis Macalaguing and Ramonito Espinosa.

Epie Ragasajo won the masters division over Arnie San Juan and Diosdado Alvarado, while Roman Sentillas, Judiz Bustria and Ritchie Gonzaga made the podium in the beginners division.

Walter Matudan, Aray Tecson and Roel Hinayas were the the top finishers of the fat boys category.