LA TRINIDAD, Benguet – Unlike their counterparts at the City Council, the choice of who will head the various committees at the Benguet Provincial Board was a unique show of civility and lack of fanfare.

The members of the board only wrote down on a piece of paper what committees they desired to chair and after publicly announcing their choices, was awarded to them.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

When there was a tie on committee choices, one or the other board member would then decline the position and step down to become one of its members.

The first session of the newly elected legislators ensued Tuesday under this cordial atmosphere.

Board members from first district are Juan Nazarro Jr., Alfonso Fianza, Benjamin Saguid, and Johnny Waguis. Their counterpart in second district are Nelson Dangwa, Florence Tingbaoen, Apolinario Camsol, Rogelio Leon and Conception Balao.

Camsol now heads the committee on agriculture and land use and housing, with Cayat taking the reins of the cooperatives and civil society committee.

Education and finance and appropriations is now headed by Nazarro with environment and mining and labor and employment taken over by Saguid.

Health and sanitation and social services were given to Tingbaoen with human rights going to Leon, and the indigenous peoples and legal matters being handled by Waguis.

Peace and order has been assigned to Cayat with personnel administration and ways and means given to Balao, public works and infrastructure is handled by Leon and public utilities and tourism and culture given to Waclin.

Senior citizens and veterans concerns are handled by Fianza; Dangwa still heads sports development and trade and Industry for the province barangay affairs is handled by Donato and youth development by Carboro. (Ma. Elena Catajan)