MANILA -- Some 11 newly-appointed government officials will take their oath of office before President Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III Thursday afternoon.

Those who will take oath include: Jose Amor Amorado as Senior Deputy Executive Secretary; Ericson Alcovendaz as assistant executive secretary for finance and administration; Ronald Geron assistant executive secretary for legal affairs; Teofilo Pilando Jr. as assistant executive secretary for government administration; and Michael Frederick Musngi as undersecretary in the Office of the Executive Secretary.

Also set to be appointed are Virgie Torres as secretary of Land Transportation Office; Ma. Lourdes Ong as Presidential Assistant 1 in the Office of Special Assistant to the President; Susan Reyes Assistant Executive Secretary in Social Security Office; Jose Angel Honrado as general manager of Manila International Airport Authority; Rico Puno, undersecretary for peace and order; and Eric Gosengfiao as Deputy Director General of National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (Nica).

The oath taking will be held at 3 p.m. in Malacanang. This is the only schedule of the President for Thursday as advised to the media.

Aquino meanwhile said in his first press briefing Wednesday that he will also be meeting with newly-appointed Energy Secretary Jose Rene Almendras to know what caused power outages in the metro.

The President felt the urgency of knowing the status of power generation and distribution in the country after experiencing consecutive brownouts in his residence in Times Street, Quezon City that caused his delay in attending the Red Mass at Manila Cathedral Wednesday. (Jill Beltran/Sunnex)