GERRY Lindawan will be a marked man anew as he is expected to return for another title hunt in the 21 kilometer event of the Baguio leg of the 34th Milo marathon, which kicks off July 18.

Lindawan and other collegiate tracksters will be in contention for the top prize when the country's longest and largest foot race gets underway.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

Also expected to give a tough contest in the 21K division are Modesto Madalang, The North Face 100 top winner, Hernani Sore, Julius Bay-an, among others.

Cash prizes also await the top 10 finishers of the 21K, 10K, 5K, and 3K categories as well as the Biggest School Delegation, Cheer Dance and inter-school running competitions.

Complementing these are the other fun events like the biggest school delegation contest, the inter-school running team competition and the cheer dance competition from grade school, high school and college participants.

The marathon sees action on July 18 for the Baguio leg with cash prizes and a chance to join the country's elite marathon racers for the national finals this year.

The national finals will be held in Manila later this year, where the men's and women's division champs will take home close to P75,000 each as well as the honor of being crowned Marathon King and Queen of the Philippines.

Runners-up in each division will get trophies and P50,000 each.

Organizers of the National Milo marathon will start using the ChampionChip timing system when the National Finals of the country's biggest and most prestigious running event begins.

"This will be the first time the Milo marathon will be using this kind of chips for our long distance marathon," said Baguio race coordinator Antonio del Monte.

The chips will be made available to runners taking part in the 42K, 21K and 10K race categories.