THE government under President Benigno Aquino III is serious in reviewing all existing and proposed infrastructure projects throughout the country until the year 2016.

Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Secretary Rogelio Singson announced this Friday during the inauguration of the second flyover project on Jalandoni-Gen. Luna streets in Iloilo City. The project costs P386.5 million.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

The second flyover is a project of DPWH President's Bridge Program under Assistant Secretary Emil Sadain. It was constructed under French-assisted Mega Bridges for Urban and Rural Development Project.

Singson said the new Jalandoni flyover will boost the strategic tourism support infrastructure and traffic improvement program of President Aquino. It was seen to facilitate easy transport of people, goods and services along the Western Visayas Nautical Highway, and serves as a strong foundation for economic development in the region.

However, the new flyover will be last of such project in the region as the government is reviewing all infrastructure projects.

The business sector in Iloilo is also not keen on the importance of flyovers in the city due to limited road space, saying the government must concentrate in building development infrastructures like roads and bridges.

Started last year under the term of former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, the flyover project is second to the first P480 million flyover project built in 2007 at the nearby intersection of Infante and Gen. Luna streets.

DPWH Regional Director Rolando Asis said the 315-lineal meter flyover, including its approaches, is a permanent modular superstructure by French supplier Matiere SAS, having five spans and four piers with a total length of 195 lineal meters and road approaches of 120 lineal meters.

DPWH also constructed a flyover in Bacolod City and has abolished another flyover project proposed in the diversion road in Iloilo City.

Present during the inauguration aside from DPWH officials were Senator Franklin Drilon, Iloilo City Representative Jerry Treñas, Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog, Vice Mayor Jose Espinosa III, Bacolod Representative Anthony Golez, Aklan Representative Florenco Miraflores, Capiz Governor Victor Tanco, Iloilo City Councilors Nielex Tupas, Joshua Alim, Lyndon Acap, David Jamora, Rodel Fullon-Agado, Plaridel Nava and Ely Estante. (Lydia C. Pendon)