FLORDELIZA Doños clocked one hour, 25 minutes and 10 seconds to rule the women’s category in the 34th National Milo Marathon elimination leg in Dagupan City Sunday morning.

Doños, a University of Baguio student taking up criminology joined Kiven Areglado of San Fernando City, La Union who topped the men’s division with a time of one hour, 22 minutes, and 45 seconds.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

Areglado and Doños took home the trophies and P10,000 cash each.

Benedict Tavara came in second in 1:28:11 while Alvin Carido timed 1:28:56 to finish third.

Jeoffrey Rafisura placed fourth in 1:29:38; followed by Mark Bacani (1:30:37); Jay Viloria (1:30:47); Edwin Galimba (1:31:28); Romnick Selga (1:32:41); Arthur Garidan (1:36:41); and Michael Naval (1:42:17) in that order.

Lany Cardona came in second in 1:43:20; followed by Jhocell Asis (1:56:18); Lea Agcaoili (2:02:59); and Zeporah Dalang (2:03:54).

Over 10,000 runners took part in the event which also featured 3K and 5K fun races and the 10K run.

For this year’s Milo Marathon, a portion of the registration fee of every participant will be allotted to its advocacy of providing underprivileged children with running shoes.

This advocacy stemmed from the Milo Marathon team’s observation that a good number of participants who joined previous races were students who did not wear shoes.

Some of the students even won the competition despite not having the proper running shoes.

The money collected from all the runners will be used to purchase running shoes that will be donated to different public schools in areas where the Milo Marathon will take place. The schools will be selected by the Department of Education.

Milo pointed out that they will not just be giving children running shoes for the marathon.

The Baguio leg of the marathon kicks off July 18 at the Baguio Melvin Burnham park lake drive with Jerry Lindawan expected to return for a fourth 21 kilometer title.