MANILA -- Militant group Bayan is calling on four officials of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) to resign after they decided in favor of Mikey Arroyo to sit as representative of party-list group Ang Galing Pinoy (AGP).

Comelec Commissioners Armando Velasco, Elias Yusoph, Lucenito Tagle, and Nicodemo Ferrer allowed the party-list bid of the former presidential son, saying that the representative should not necessarily be marginalized.

“These commissioners cannot be trusted to carry out their mandate of ensuring that the laws related to the elections are correctly upheld. They appear incapable of understanding the law. They have lost the trust of the electorate. They must resign,” said Bayan secretary general Renato Reyes Jr.

The other two commissioners -- Gregorio Larrazabal and Rene Sarmiento -- sided with the disqualification case filed by former lawmakers Liza Maza of Gabriela and Satur Ocampo of Bayan Muna while Comelec chairman Jose Melo did not take part in the voting. (Kathrina Alvarez/Sunnex)