THE National Capital Region Police Office will not allow protesters in front of the Batasan Pambansa Complex as President Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III will make his first State of the Nation Addres (Sona) Monday.

NCRPO Director Roberto Rosales said they have decided to reject a request from various militant groups to be allowed to hold their protest and other activities right at the Batasan gates.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

"Maliit lang yun na lugar so pag dun talaga sila magsagawa ng kanilang mga activities, marami ang maaapektuhan at mahaharang pa ang daloy ng trapiko," Rosales said.

Earlier, leaders of militant groups such as Bayan Muna secretary general Renato Reyes appealed to the authorities to allow them to hold their protest closer to the Batasan complex.

The NCRPO said over 4,000 policemen and eight Closed Circuit Television (CCTV) cameras will be installed in strategic areas to prevent any untoward incidents.

"This is a preventive measure," Rosales said adding that they are confident no untoward incident or violent confrontation with the rallyists will take place.

For its part, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) will deploy 1,000 traffic enforcers all over the metropolis to ease traffic problem, especially that Malacañang has not declare the day as a holiday.

Public and private vehicles are also expected to crowd the thoroughfares as the MMDA has suspended the Unified Vehicular Volume Reduction Program (UVVRP) or the "number coding" scheme on Monday.

But the agency cautioned motorists that the number coding scheme will still be in effect in Makati as the City Government decided not to suspend the scheme.

Meanwhile, the northbound stretch of Commonwealth Avenue but Vehicles, however, will be allowed to counter flow on the southbound lane.

In a related development, Department of Education (DepEd) Secretary Armin Luistro reiterated that classes in the following schools will be suspended on Monday:

Batasan Elementary School,

Payatas A, B and C Elementary School,

Payatas B Annex Elementary School,

Bagong Silangan Elementary School and High School,

Dona Juana Elementary School,

Commonwealth Elementary School and High School,

Commonwealth Annex,

Manuel L. Quezon Elementary School,

Culiat Elementary School and High School,

New Era Elementary School and High School,

Batasan Hills National High School,

Justice Cecilia Munoz Palma High School,

Holy Spirit High School, and

J. F. Belmonte High School.

The DepEd said the temporary suspension would ensure the safety of students who might get caught in the planned protest actions by various civil society and cause-oriented groups opposed to the President's Sona. (AH/Sunnex)