THE Playmakers came from behind to crown itself champion in the just-concluded Mayor Sara and Vice Mayor Rody Duterte Handog Pasasalamat Open Bowlfest 2010 at the Fairlanes Bowling Center.

The Playmakers, which placed fourth after the seven-game elimination series, unseated No. 3 Diagold 1, 599-575, in the step-the-ladder finals.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

The Playmakers then edged Homer, 640-637, to arrange a titular showdown with No. 1 Fedco-2 that gained a twice-to-beat advantage.

Gerry Farin, Dennis Descallar, Cris Betonio, Pampi Ihao, Cencio Awid and May-May Aborda combined efforts to topple Fedco-2 in two straight games, 610-546 and 561-504.

Playmakers bagged a cash prize of P8,000 and a trophey while the Fedco 2 team of Rene Dalayon, Mads Lauro, Paul Tengosia, Rain and Nonoy Lacuesta and Jimmy Sia pocketed P6,000.

Homer, bannered by Aksan, Sky and Nash Amsirabe with Jong-Jong Benedicto and John Salisi, received P4,000 while Diagold 1 composed of Nonoy and Jaybee Baluyot, Berting Gorgonio, Robert Balana and Eddie Sagario got P3,000.

In the Masters game, elimination round No. 1 Paul Tengosia of Fedco 2 avenged his first game loss by turning back Toto Delfin of Maxcey's Veranda, 126-104, in the finals sudden death second game.

Delfin eliminated Sunday Bowlers Club (SBC) president Emie Orteza of Mars Bowlers in the semifinal, 137-128. The latter earlier stunned veteran player Boying Magday of Pinoy Brothers, 132-127.

Tengosia went home with P1,000 cash prize while Delfin, Orteza and Magday settled for P500, P400 and P300, respectively.

Michael Omandac of Fairlanes, meanwhile, captured the highest pinning title by hitting 98 pinfalls while Benedicto ruled the highest individual single with 161. Betonio copped the highest individual double crown with 285.

Betonio also won the highest individual average title with 131.17 while Homer (633) clinched the highest team single even as Pinoy Brothers (1,205) won the highest double award. (MLSA )