TOP favorite Joselito Dugos won the 21K men's open, but unknown Madelyn Carter from Cebu stole the top honor in the distaff side in the Kadayawan Festival Run 2010 held Sunday in an out-and-back course at Roxas Avenue.

Dugos clocked one hour, 10 minutes and 33 seconds to win the P6,000 cash prize with a medal awarded by Davao City Councilor Al Ryan Alejandre, who represented Mayor Inday Sara Duterte.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

Placing second was Renante Villarama with a clocking of 1:11:33. He earned P4,000 with a medal. Third was Elmer Bartolo (1:11:45), followed by Mark Maluyo (1:12:13) and Mario Elcaner (1:15:22).

Carter, a 30-year old Cebuana who is married to an Australian, beat former Milo Marathon champion Monalisa Ambasa of Davao in the 21K women's open.

Carter, who recently won the Mandaue 15K, had a time of 1:29:39. Ambasa submitted a clocking of 1:30:55.

Emily Avergonzalo was third at 1:41:00 followed by younger sister Vivian at 1:45:00 at Shrly Anne Bacus at 1:59:41.

In the 10K men's open, Brian Lupion outsprinted Roy Leonor in the last 200 meters to win by only 11 seconds. Lupion clocked 34 minutes and 33 seconds. Leonor had 34:44 followed by Jonil Boncit (35:17).

Toril's Cynthia Jaro topped the women's open at 42:19 followed by Evangeline Villanueva (43:43) and Criselyn Jaro (48:29).

Michael Constantino shared the limelight by ruling the 5K men's open at 15:52 followed by Jaime Valencia (15:49) and Dominador Gasper (16:36).

Mae Barit won the distaff side at 19:55 followed by Beth Louise Moralde (21:12) and Chrysel Cuming (21:23).

The Hi-Smart 3K footrace winners were Kecir Abrigon and Dynie rose Jaro (7-9), Christopher Piguero and Cecille Jaro (10-12).