THE Philippine Volleyball Federation (PVF) selected new men’s and women’s national coaches who will scout for members of the national teams.

PVF vice-president Gener Dungo said University of Santo Tomas women’s head coach Cesael Delos Santos will call the shots for the men’s team while Sammy Acaylar replaced College of St. Benilde’s Thelma Barina-Rojas as women’s mentor.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

“This is a good start for us to rebuild the men’s and women’s national teams,” said Dungo, who added that board member and Adamson coach Dulce Pante has been appointed by the PVF board as national team committee head.

Dungo said the new coaches will select 14 players each from the pool of aspirants based on their criteria after the last tryout on August 5, which was attended by 70 men and 60 women.

Delos Santos will be joined by assistant coach George Pascua and trainer Edgar Barroga, while Acaylar will be assisted by coaches Boyet Del Moro and Ronald Dulay.

Barroga was also appointed youth girls’ coach, while Alegro Carpio will handle the boys team.

Besides indoor, Carpio was also selected to coach the women’s beach volleyball national team and Nonoy Lopez will remain as the men’s national beach volleyball coach.

“We are aiming to discover new breed of players with height and talent. We will also give them exposure”, said Dungo, noting the PVF will have a courtesy call with new Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Chairman Richie Garcia this week.

PVF is preparing the national beach volleyball squad for the 2010 Asian Beach Games in Muscat, Oman in December, while the indoor teams are gearing up for the 2011 Jakarta Southeast Asian Games and other tournaments.

Swimming has been a perennial source of medals for the Philippines in international tournaments like the SEA Games.

At the 25th edition in Laos last year, the country’s tankers Ryan Arabejo and Daniel Coakley broke SEAG records in winning the gold medals in the 1,500m and 50m freestyle events. (Virgil Lopez/Sunnex)