YOU can now vote for your chosen Hiyas sa Kadayawan 2010 via Smart Texters' Choice.

To vote, text HIYAS2010 (space) POLL (space) (letter of choice) and send to 9977.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

This year's Hiyas sa Kadayawan candidates and their respective alphabetical codes are as follows: A. Jovelyn Mandahay from the Uvu-Manuvu tribe; B. Jalma Bete Mohamad from the Kalagan tribe; C. Nerbelyn Abduhalim from the Sama tribe; D. Merazol Balido from the Tagabawa-Bagobo tribe; E. Aliah Heitz from the Maguindanao; F. Charity Joy Matalum from the Klata/Guiangan; G. Fatima Sharine Jadjuli from the Tausug tribe; H. Ronaliza Abing from the Matigsalog tribe; I. Mernadeth Sicutan from the Ata tribe; J. Jamalia Usman from the Maranao tribe.

The coronation of this year's Hiyas sa Kadayawan is slated on August 20, 8 p.m., at the Davao City Recreational Center (Almendras Gym). The coronation night will feature music and dances in a pageantry integrating the tribal folklores and folk stories of the ten tribes of Davao.

The Hiyas sa Kadayawan is the tribal lass who epitomizes joy, bounty, simplicity and beauty, and possesses the pride of her indigenous heritage and must nurture the wisdom of her ancestors.

The winners of the various titles will win the corresponding prizes: Hiyas sa Kadayawan (Festival Gem) -- P50,000. Hiyas sa Kauswagan (Gem of Progress) -- P40,000, Hiyas sa Tingusbawan (Gem of Fulfilled Promise) -- P30,000, and seven Hiyas sa Kaliwatan (Tribal Gem) -- P10,000.

Smart Texters' Choice will charge only P2.50 per message. For more details about the festival, check out or the official Facebook page: Kadayawan Festival 2010.