EXPECT yet another feverish street performance as Indak-Indak sa Kadalanan, among the most anticipated events of this festival, could only get better with each year's celebration.

Indak-Indak sa Kadalanan, dubbed as "the festival of festivals", is an explosion of indigenous tradition as contingents pump up the city's major streets with choreographed and theatrical street dance narrating various indigenous cultures in Mindanao.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

City-based contingents will interpret the Kadayawan sa Dabaw Festival or the folklores of Mindanao, myth or legends, and the celebrations of this city's indigenous peoples, namely: Uvu-Manuvu, Ata, Tagabawa, Matigsalog, K'lata, Sama, Maranao, Maguindanao, Tausug, and Kalagan.

Indak-Indak sa Kadalanan committee head Mayet Ibuyan said the participation of the indigenous tribes makes this street dancing competition better than others.

Musical accompaniment to each performance is done live, set in indigenous beats and melodies relative to each tribe. Musical instruments like kulintang, agong, kubing, kudlong, wind chimes, and others will be used.

Indak-Indak sa Kadalanan is done in two phases: the Street Dancing Showcase which runs from 8 a.m. to 12 noon; and the Showdown Performance from 2 p.m. to 8 p.m.

The contingents will be judged based on their combined scores.

In the Street Dancing Performance, the contingents are allowed to perform only in two designated areas for only two minutes: Phase 1 at the junction of CM Recto St. and at Roxas Avenue and Phase 2 at San Pedro St. fronting Rizal Park.

For the Showdown Performance the contingents will have a minimum of five minutes and a maximum of eight minutes performance.

Returning to this year's Indak-Indak sa Kadalanan are last years winners: champion for 2009, Purok Sison Elementary School (ES) Performing Arts Group from Surallah, South Cotabato; first runner up, Lampa-lapidan ES from Mandug, this city; 2nd runner-up Magallanes ES from Magallanes, this city; and 3rd runner-up Surallah Central ES from Surallah, South Cotabato.

This year's list of contingents are as follows (in order of entry): Lumad Undanawon/Tagbitan-ag National High School (HS) from Barangay Undanao, Island Garden City of Samal; Tugbok National HS from Durian St. Tugbok District, this city; Magallanes Elementary School (ES) from Magallanes St., this city; Gayonga National HS from Northern Kabuntalan, Maguindanao; Barayong National HS from Magsaysay, Davao del Sur; Esperanza National HS of Esperanza, Sultan Kudarat.

Also contesting are Tribu Mapawa from Maragusan, Compostella Valley; Kapitan Tomas Monteverde ES from Ponciano St., this city; Catalunan Pequeno ES from Catalunan Pequeno, this city; Surallah Central ES from Surallah, South Cotabato; Lampa-lapidan ES from Mandug, this city; Sta. Ana National HS from Magsaysay Avenue this city, Ethnicas Dance Troupe from Dawan NHS, Mati, Davao Oriental; Jesus J. Soriano National HS from Catalunan Grande, this city; Artemio Loyola ES from Crossing Bayabas, Toril, this city; Sta. Ana Central ES from Magsaysay Avenue.

Purok Sison ES Performing Arts Group from Surallah, South Cotabato; Osmena ES from Km. 12, Sasa; San Isidro ES from Buhangin; Don Julian Rodriguez ES from Gov. Duterte NHA Agdao; Cesario Villa-Abrille ES from 76-A; San Lorenzo ES from Bago Gallera; Indak Kabataan Dance Troupe & Music Ensemble from NHS, Digos City; and the Buhangin District Davao City Women's Federation are also competing. (JCZ)