AN ENVIRONMENTALIST, a mayor, a singer and a movie producer are among this year’s recipients of The Outstanding Cebuano Awards (TOCA).

The 10th batch of awardees is composed of Gloria Sevilla-Cortez (acting and movie production), Engr. Nestor Archival Sr. (engineering and environment), Atty. Democrito Bar-cenas (law), Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes (public service), Prisca Niña Mabatid (entrepreneurship), Atty. Mariano Cui Jr. (community service), Rochelle Vega-Siu (music and entertainment), Bro. Nonito Limchua (journalism), Illumi-nado Ornopia (sports and promotions) and Danilo Rodis (management).

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

The awarding ceremony was hosted by the “Tingog sa Lungsod” blocktime program, which also celebrated its 28th anniversary; the Cebu Breakfast Club Inc.; Sugbuanong mga Komentaristang Nagpakabana; and Cebu Tri-Media Association.

During his welcome speech, Engr. Greg Senining, chief anchorman of “Tingog sa Lungsod” and executive director of the TOCA program, stressed the importance of honoring individuals who have made sacrifices and brought pride to Cebu.

Talisay City Mayor Socrates Fernandez, who delivered the anniversary message, said the awardees have left a legacy for Cebu which will be remembered.

In his speech, Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes admitted he was at first reluctant to receive the award, but later realized the award is not only for him but for all his constituents in Mandaue.

He thanked the people behind TOCA for giving recognition to individuals committed to promote public service and transparency.

“This award motivates a person. This award is for us. Let’s pool our efforts together because the best is yet to come,” he said.

“This is a challenge for me. I should always put my best voice forward to represent our country, and most especially our beloved Cebu,” said Vega-Sui, more popularly known as Raki Vega, winner of the ABS-CBN reality singing contest “Born Diva.”

Past TOCA awardees include former chief justice Hilario Davide Jr., Atty. Winston Garcia, Dr. Francisco Nemenzo, Vice Gov. Gregorio Sanchez Jr. and Provincial Board Member Arleigh Jay Sitoy.