CITY OF SAN FERNANDO -- The Regional Development Council (RDC) in Central Luzon has given awards to the different private and government partners that have contributed to region's development projects.

The awardees were honored during the 12th RDC Assembly Awarding Ceremonies held at the Heroes Hall here, attended by City of San Fernando Mayor Oscar Rodriguez, Zambales Governor Hermogenes Ebdane, and Aurora Governor Bellaflor Angara-Castillo, among others.

Post your reaction to the Manila hostage crisis

National Economic and Development Authority (Neda) Regional Director Remigio Mercado said the awards were aimed at recognizing the support and contribution of the private sector in achieving many of the development projects charted by the RDC.

He said private sector participation in the RDC has enabled its committees to create sound decision on fiscal, economic and social development agenda.

"We owe a lot to the private sector and we believe that the continuous participation of our partners both in government and the business community would enable us to do better this year as the RDC would again chart its objectives under a new administration," Mercado added.

Awarded during the event were businessman Rene Romero (Chairman, Balik MacArthur Task Force), Gov. Enrique Garcia (Chairman, RDC III and Luzon Area Development Coordination Com.), Mayor Oscar Rodriguez (Chairman, Development Administration), Governor Bellaflor Angara-Castillo (Chairperson, Economic Development), former governor Amor Deloso (Chairman, Infra Development), and former governor Eddie Panlilio (Chairman, Social Development).

Private sector representatives were also given certificates of appreciation. Among them were Jesus Malavar (Consumer), Shubert Ciencia (Crops), Crispin Tria (Environment), Laureano Artagame (Fisheries), Rosemarie Herrera (Health), Ana Luzette Lareza (Infrastructure), Sr. Eva Maamo (Indigenous People), Anecita Iran (Labor), Renato Tayag, Jr. (Livestock), Renato Romero (Small and medium enterprises), Philip Camara (Tourism), Jesus Yap (Trade) and Dr. Robert DV Reyes (Regional Project Monitoring Com.). (Ian Ocampo Flora)