DAGUPAN CITY - The Pangasinan Mayors League (PML) elected new set of officers at a posh hotel here Wednesday.

Thirty four of the 44 municipal mayors in the province attended the event hosted by outgoing PML president, former Binalonan mayor Ramon Guico.

Bugallon Mayor Rodrigo Orduna was unopposed in his presidential bid of the PML.

Post your reaction to the Manila hostage crisis

The other officers are Lingayen Mayor Ernesto Castaneda (executive vice president), San Fabian Mayor Irene Libunao (secretary general), Infanta Mayor Ruperto Martinez (vice president, first district), Binmaley Mayor Lorenzo Cerezo (vice president, second district), Sta. Barbara Mayor Carlito Zaplan (vice president, third district), Mangaldan Mayor Herminio Romero (vice president, fourth district), Alcala Mayor Manuel Collado (Vvice president, fifth district), and Tayug Mayor Carlos Trese Mapili(vice president, sixth district); Asingan Mayor Heidi Chua (treasurer), Villasis Mayor Dita Abrenica (auditor), Sison Mayor Mina Pangasinan and Laoac Mayor Silverio Alarcio Jr. (business managers), Calasiao Mayor Mark Roy Macanlalay and Rosales Mayor Ricardo Revita (PROs) and Tayug Mayor Mapili as legal counsel.

"I did not really aspire to become president of the league, but I have to accept this great responsibility entrusted to me by my fellow mayors," Orduna said.

Among the concerns that the new league will focus into is environmental protection, to include problem on Solid Waste Management as mandated by Republic Act 9003.

He said they participated in the covenant signing for the Joint Clean-up Drive of Rivers and Waterways.

Orduna said their respective local government units will work hand-in-hand with Governor Amado Espino Jr. in clearing and cleaning the rivers at their localities.

Meanwhile, the Calasiao Vice Mayor Roy Macanlalay was recently elected as president of the Vice Mayors League of Pangasinan. (Liway C. Manantan-Yparraguirre)