THE Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) identified the hostage victims who were holders of Canadian passports as Amy Yau Woon Ng, Doris Chung See Leung, Song Yi Jessie Leung, Jason Song Xue Leung, and Ken Kam Wing Leung.

Ng and Jason Leung survived the ordeal but suffered injuries.

Post your reaction to the Manila hostage crisis

The DFA assured the government of Canada that the hostage victims with Canadian passports will be taken cared of.

In a statement, the agency said the status of the five Canadian passport-holders is constantly being coordinated with the Embassy of Canada in Manila.

“The DFA assures the Canadian Embassy of full consular access and assistance to their nationals and has facilitated the establishment of lines of communications between the embassy and the Philippine National Police.”

The DFA related that the remains of the other three were included in the repatriation to Hong Kong last Wednesday.

A chartered Cathay Pacific flight left Manila 6 p.m. Wednesday for Hong Kong carrying the eight survivors and 19 of their relatives along with the bodies of the eight fatalities in sealed containers. (AMN/Sunnex)