UZBEKISTAN Grandmaster Anton Filippov thwarted the Filipino masters to win the 6th Prospero Pichay Cup at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium in Manila.

Filippov (2609) who came into the tournament as the No.2 seed, finished undefeated with 7.0 points to win the $6,000 top prize.

Updates on President Benigno Aquino III's presidency

The tournament attracted 47 players from 10 countries with GMs John Paul Gomez and Drawin Laylo leading the 28-man Filipino contingent.

Among Filippov’s victims were WGM Atousa Pourkashiyan (2308), IM Oliver Dimakiling (2418), GM Jayson Gonzales (2435), GM Gomez, David Elorta (2363) in Round 8. He also had draws with Ehsan Ghaem Maghami (2585), GM Tamaz Gelashvili (2605) of Georgia, GM Merab Gagunashvili (2596) and top seed Murtas Kazhgaleyev (2619) of Kazakhstan.