SO SUCESSFUL was the Victorias Milling Company-Cong. Alfredo "Albee" Benitez Invitational Golf Tournament held last Friday, August 27 at the Vicmico Golf and country Club that, this early, participants and guests are already wondering out loud when the two co-hosts will hold the next installment.

More than a hundred golf enthusiasts participated in the event. Vicmico was bannered by no less than its chairman Omar Byron T. Mier, president Hubert D. Tubio, and members of the board of directors Norberto B. Capay, Abelardo E. Bugay, Armando D. Samia and Wilson Young.

Post your reaction to the Manila hostage crisis

Cong. Benitez also played in the group composed of his colleagues from the House of Representatives led by JV Ejercito (lone district of San Juan), Karlo Alexei Nograles (first district - Davao) and Mark Llando Mendoza (fourth district-Batangas).

Other participants included Murcia Mayor Andrew Montelibano, Sily City Vice Mayor Mark Golez, third district Provincial Board Member Patrick Lacson, Department of Labor and Employment regional director Manuel Roldan, Sagay sugar central president Romy Cortez, First Farmers president Jose Ma. Villanueva and sugar traders Michael Escaler and Raul Gamban.

After making the round of the par 72 course, the following emerged victorious in their respective categories:

Ladies Category: Tess Mendell - Champion; Vicky Verdeflor - first runner-up; and Cynthia Capay - second runner-up.

Men's Class C (Handicap 21-30): Romeo Sanchez - Champion; Mario Ongsuco first runner-up; and Jun Pillongo - third runner-up.

Men's Class B (Handicap 11-20): Paul Cruz - Champion; Eric Golez - first runner-up; and JV Ejercito - third runner-up.

Men's Class A (Handicap 0-10): Alan Kilayko - Champion; Mark Cuaycong - first runner-up; and Dupert Locsin - second runner-up.

Vicmico Golf and Country Club manager Gerry Monfort bagged the best net overall score while Federico "Cocoy" Locsin won the best gross overall score.

After the tournament, the players and guests trooped to the L Fischer Hotel for the awarding ceremonies and fellowship dinner where lavish prizes were received not only by the tournament winners but also by the other participants and guests who were also recipients of generous door prizes.