MANILA -- The term of non-Career Executive Service Officials (non-Ceso) will automatically end on October 31, a Malacanang official said Wednesday.

Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Eduardo de Mesa said those who did not receive reappointment papers are considered resigned starting November.

In a memorandum circular, the Palace tasked the head of all national government agencies to appoint officers-in-charge for the posts that will be vacated.

There are 1,179 non-CESO officials, appointed during the term of former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, that will be affected by the move. (Jill Beltran/Sunnex)