MANILA -- The fight is not yet over for one legislator.

Navotas Representative Tobias Tiangco on Wednesday filed a House bill seeking to cancel the cityhood of 16 municipalities recently affirmed by the Supreme Court.

House Bill 4553 points out that the 16 municipalities failed to comply with Republic Act 9009, which increased the income requirement from for cityhood from P20 million to P100 million.

"For too long, this issue has been the cause of division and indecision among the various sectors of the government. It would be better if we strictly follow the rule of law, in this case RA 9009 and re-establish the 16 as municipalities," Tiangco said in a statement.

House Bill 4553 seeks to repeal the 16 Cityhood Laws, namely: Republic Act 9389 (Baybay City in Leyte), 9390 (Bogo City in Cebu), 9391 (Catbalogan City in Samar), 9392 (Tandag City in Surigao del Sur), 9393 (Lamitan City in Basilan), 9394 (Borongan City in Samar), 9398 (Tayabas City in Quezon), 9404 (Tabuk City in Kalinga), 9405 (Bayugan City in Agusan del Sur), 9407 (Batac City in Ilocos Norte), 9408 (Mati City in Davao Oriental), 9409 (Guihulngan City in Negros Oriental), 9434 (Cabadbaran City in Agusan del Norte), 9435 (El Salvador City in Misamis Oriental), 9436 (Carcar City in Cebu), and 9491 (Naga City in Cebu). (Kathrina Alvarez/Sunnex)