Friday, September 17, 2021

A Sea of Red: Miss CdeO Evening Gown Competition

THE Centrio Mall Activity Center was filled to capacity as Kagay-anons were treated to an afternoon of beauty and poise during the Evening Gown competition of Miss CdeO 2015 held on August 8, 2015.

The candidates, decked in the creations of local fashion designers, dazzled the crowd as they proved that they are the epitome of grace and composure.

The audience was formally welcomed by Miss CdeO organizer Gigi Go and City Tourism Board consultant Dorothy Jean Pabayo, while a production number from the candidates opened the competition.

The crowd went wild as each of the candidates appeared on stage, with supporters for the 12 beautiful young ladies trying to outdo one another with the loudness of their cheers of encouragement.

Some even came prepared with banners, posters, and balloons.

MC RFunk, hosting the event, did a great job of encouraging the throng to cheer for their favorites and Mikko Ang of Macasandig cheered loudest for candidate #10 saying, “She’s definitely a winner in my books. She stands out!” Aside from her, candidates who got the loudest cheers were candidates #4, #6, and #12.

Before the actual formal Evening Gown competition, designers Emmanuel Mulawan and Alquin Cap-atan, grand winners of the recently concluded World Costume Festival in Dapitan, showcased their winning designs.

The candidates then walked the ramp in clothing from the collection of designers from Designers Assembly and Oro Fashion Designers Guild, the same designers who created their evening gowns. These twelve designers, one for each candidate, included Al Quin as well as Boogie Musni Rivera, Gil Macaibay III, Albert Rivera, Kiko Domo, Ruvil Neri, Mark Christopher Yaranon, Benjie S. Manuel, John Mark Magallanes, Joshua Guibone, Mavy Cooper de Leon, and Juniel Doring.

During the event, the Best in Evening Gown winner will be announced on the pageant night on August 22, 2015.

Aside from this award, the prestigious panel of judges, comprising of individuals such as Donna Ocampo (Station Manager of ABS-CBN), Patrick Gabutina (professional artist and fashion enthusiast), and Gabby Bacarro (founder of CdeO and Northern Mindanao Talent Center) to name a few, was also tasked with determining which designer wins the Best Gown Creation Award.

For two years in a row, designer Albert Rivera has taken home this award and so everyone has been anticipating the look of his design as well as how the other designs compare. It was definitely a competitive night with each designer determined to bring home the title this year. All 12 gown creations were in various shades of red. Like the Best in Evening Gown award, this award will also be announced during the coronation night.

The event was graced by prominent CdeO folks including Mags Cue (owner of Mags and one of 2013 Best Dressed Women of the Philippines), as well as 2014 Miss CdeO 4th Runner up Jane Maceda, 3rd Runner up Jessica Abines, and 1st Runner Up and 2014 Miss Tourism Sherra Mae Vacalares.

“It was fabulous! The ladies did really well tonight. I’m sure that they made their families and supporters very proud,” Sherra gushed.

“And the designs were wonderful too! I’m sure the judges will have a tough time choosing. Kudos to everyone especially the organizers!”
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!