Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Local bets sign covenant for peace

LOCAL candidates from various political groups in Davao City vowed to make 2013 election peaceful.

Senior Superintendent Ronald dela Rosa, Davao City Police Office (DCPO) director, spearheaded the Peace Covenant Forum and Covenant Signing held in Camp Captain Domingo E. Leonor, with the Commission on Elections (Comelec) Regional Director Wilfred Balisado and Davao Archdiocesan Social Action Chief (Asac) Rev. Fr. Leonardo A. Dublan Jr.

Dela Rosa, in an interview, said the peace covenant was initiated by the Philippine National Police (PNP) for peaceful, orderly and fair conduct of the May 2013 election.

He said that as the guardians of peace, it is the responsibility of the law enforcers to maintain peace and order.

"The covenant signed by the candidates indicates their willingness to uphold and also follow the regulations imposed by the Comelec for a peaceful election. We would expect candidates to be fair and honest during the competition, dili nila gamiton ang mga kabus na tao for their own benefit, and if unsa tong gi-imposed sa Comelec dapat sundon nila (they will not use the poor to their advantage and will follow the election laws)," Dela Rosa said.

Balisado, for his part, encouraged the candidates in Davao City to be guided with the rules of the Comelec and work with a common goal of smooth, fair, honest, and peaceful election.

The candidates individually signed the covenant of peace, signifying acceptance and commitment.

Chief Inspector Neil Rojo, chief of the DCPO Police Communication Relations (PCR), said among the candidates who joined the peace covenant signing were first district incumbent Representative Karlo Nograles, Ely Pamatong, and Louie Bonguyan.

For the second district: Jennel Nagayo, Ulysses Lopez, Joji Ilagan Bian and Mylene Garcia. For the third district: incumbent Representative Isidro Ungab.

Candidates for City Council for respective district are as follows: First district: Eufronio Galaura Jr., Carlos Cirilo, Joanne Bonguyan, Reynaldo Camingwan, Lorenzo Cañada, Jackson Reyes, Melchor Quitain, Leah Librado-Yap, Bonifacio Militar, Edgar Ibuyan, Maria Belen Sunga Acosta, Emmanuel Galicia Jr., Jessie Mar Culaste, Nilo Abellera Jr., Lyndon Banzon and Leo de Ocampo Gonzales.

Second district: Dailo Dayanghirang, Marissa Salvador-Abella, April Marie Dayap, Diosdado Mahipus, Malyn Cabling, Angelo Aportadera, Jimmy Dureza, Richy Nalagon, Arnolfo Apostol, Winston Randolph Gamir, Rechil Patiganzo, Laarni Calixijan, Tomas Monteverde IV, Al Ryan Alejandre, Gerarld Bangoy, and Louie John Bonguyan.

Third district: Victorio Advincula Sr., Eduardo Santander, Rene Elias Lopez, Rachel Zozobrado, Myrna L'Dalodo Ortiz, Jose Marie Baluran, Allan Ostique Sr., Victorio Advincula Jr., Bernard Al-ag, Rogelio Montajes, Mary Joselle Villafuerte, Eduardo Trinidad, Gerardo Braganza, Allan Dolor, Karlo Bello, and Antoinette Principe.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!