‘No absentee voters in Iloilo City’

THE Commission on Elections (Comelec) announced Tuesday that no one availed of the media absentee voting provision in Iloilo City.

Absentee voting was designed for members of the media, Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), the Philippine National Police (PNP), and teachers who will be allowed to vote earlier than the actual day of elections on May 13.

Jonathan Sayno, of Iloilo City Comelec office, said the absentee voting process should have started on Monday, April 29, 2013, but no one registered to avail of the process in the city. The registration of absentee voters was conducted in March 2013.

Sayno said the city is free of absentee voters and the May 13, 2013 elections will go on smoothly in all voting centers in the city.

Iloilo City has a total of 247,564 registered voters in 350 clustered precincts and 66 voting centers which are mostly public schools. The city has 180 barangays and 1,689 established voting precincts.

Jaro district has 86 clustered precincts, 73 in La Paz and Lapuz districts, 93 in Molo and Mandurriao districts, and 98 in the city proper and Arevalo districts.

The Comelec official ballots for the May 13, 2013 midterm elections arrived in Iloilo City last Saturday, April 27, 2013.

City treasurer Katherine Tingzon said the ballots are now deposited at their city warehouse and secured 24 hours by members of the city Comelec and the PNP.

The ballots are in 350 boxes covering the 350 clustered precincts in this city to be distributed to chairman of the board of election inspectors in the early morning of the Election Day.

Tingzon said that Comelec Resolution 9598 provides the deputation of certain departments under the executive branch, government owned, and controlled corporations and financial institutions in connection with the May 13, 2013 automated national and local elections.

The deputized government agencies are the Department of Education, Department of Transportation and Communication, Department of Energy and Electric Cooperatives, Philippine Postal Corp., National Telecommunications Commission, Philippine Airlines, Civic Service Commission, Commission on Audit, Department of Budget and Management, Department of Public Works and Highways, Public Information Agency and government owned and controlled corporations (GOCC).
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!