Thursday, April 25, 2019

Best race of 2014

FROM hundreds of races, the 2014 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines staged in Cebu in August was heralded as the Race of the Year by the 4th annual SwimBikeRun (SBR) awards.

Princess Galura, the project director of Sunrise Events Inc. (SEI), said it was their fourth year to win the award.

The Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines got a whopping 916 votes to clinch a four-peat, Challenge Philippines was at a distant second with 462 votes. Century Tuna 5150 landed at third with 284.

The 2014 edition of Ironman 70.3 Philippines hit a milestone when the 2,500 slots all sold out in just minutes after registration opened.

Participants came from 40 countries —the most they got out of its sixth editions.

The SBR who gave the award was the multisport community website which was launched last 2011. It contains the latest news on foreign and local triathlon events, competitions and updates.

The SBR also gave awards to the local and international triathletes who made waves in the triathlon scene in 2014.

August Benedicto, who won the filipino elite title of the 2014 Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines a day after his birthday, was awarded as the local men’s elite Triathlete of the Year with 699 votes. Maria Claire Adorna had 724 to edge out the Alaska Ironkids technical race director Ani de Leon-Brown who had 723 for the women’s elite Triathlete of the Year award.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!