Thursday, September 23, 2021

Cinemalaya 2013 winners proclaimed

STAR for All Seasons Vilma Santos bagged this year's Best Actress trophy in the Directors Showcase category of the 2013 Cinemalaya.

Held Sunday evening at the Cultural Center of the Philippines' Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater), the awards night aimed to recognize the outstanding films in this year's competition.

Vilma won the trophy for the movie "Extra," which will have its commercial release this month.

Directed by Jeffrey Jeturian, the socio-realist drama-comedy film also won five other awards including the Special Jury Prize and the Audience Choice Awards.

"Sana Dati" top billed by Lovi Poe, Benjamin Alves and Paulo Avelino, meanwhile, took home most of the awards in the Directors Showcase category. Jerrold Tarog bagged the Best Director trophy while TJ Trinidad won the Best Supporting Actor title. "Sana Dati" got eight awards in the festival.

Hannah Espia's "Transit" bagged the most number of awards in the New Breed category. Its lead actors Irma Adlawan and Jasmine Curtis-Smith bagged the Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress trophies, respectively. Produced by Paul Soriano, "Transit" also won the Best Film title and the Audience Choice Award.

In the Short Films category, Paulo O'Hara's "The Houseband's Wife" won the Best Film trophy while "Taya" and "Sa Wakas" were named in the Special Jury Prize and Best Screenplay awards, respectively.

Here's the complete list of winners in the 2013 Cinemalaya:

Directors Showcase:
Best Film: "Sana Dati"
Best Director: Jerrold Tarog ("Sana Dati")
Best Actress: Vilma Santos ("Ekstra")
Best Supporting Actress: Ruby Ruiz ("Ekstra")
Best Supporting Actor: TJ Trinidad ("Sana Dati")
Best Screenplay: Zig Dulay, Antoinette Jadaone, and Jeffrey Jeturian ("Ekstra")
Best Cinematography: Mackie Galvez ("Sana Dati")
Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro ("Sana Dati")
Best Editing: Pats R. Ranyo ("Sana Dati")
Best Original Music: Jerrold Tarog ("Sana Dati")
Best Sound: Roger TJ Ladro ("Sana Dati")
NETPAC Award: "Ekstra"
Special Jury Prize: "Ekstra"

New Breed:
Best Film: "Transit"
Best Director: Hannah Espia ("Transit")
Best Actress: Irma Adlawan ("Transit")
Best Actor: Mimi Juareza ("Quick Change")
Best Supporting Actress: Jasmine Curtis Smith ("Transit")
Best Supporting Actor: Joey Paras ("Babagwa")
Citation for ensemble acting: "Transit"
Best Screenplay: Eduardo Roy Jr. ("Quick Change")
Best Cinematography: Ber Cruz and Lyle Nemenzo Sacris ("Transit")
Best Production Design: Roy Red ("Rekorder")
Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino and Hannah Espia ("Transit")
Best Original Music: Mon Espia ("Transit")
Best Sound: Michael Idioma ("Quick Change")
NETPAC Award: "Transit"
Special Jury Prize: "Quick Change"

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!