CineKabalen names Kapampangan indie film winners

ANGELES CITY -- Jonathan David's "Sulat" was named Aring Sinukwan Best Film in this year's 3rd CineKabalen Kapampangan Film Festival.

The winners were presented at the Holy Angel University over the weekend. The 12 Kapampangan short films from various towns and cities in Pampanga and Tarlac competed for the major awards, including the top prize Aring Sinukwan Award for Best Short Film.

The top prize comes with a gold Aring Sinukwan trophy and P20,000. The runner-up received a silver Aring Sinukwan trophy and P10,000.

Here is the list of winners:

Best Music and Best Sound: "Coup de Grace" by Petersen Vargas (Apalit) Best Editing: "Cabatingan" by Brianne Amparado (Angeles)
Best Production Design: "Ing Pusta" by Deng David (Mabalacat) and Tin Velasco (Angeles)
Best Cinematography: "Matwang Dalaga" by Carlo Catu (Angeles)
Best Screenplay: "Kumpisal" by Clarklouis Sanchez (Magalang)
Best Direction: "Cabatingan" by Brianne Amparado (Angeles)
Best Actress: Leo Sarmiento of "Ing Guinu Mu" by Bor Ocampo (Santa Rita)
Best Actor: for Joven Galang Jr. of "Tage" by Jasper Tulabot (Tarlac)
Audience Choice award: "Cabatingan" by Brianne Amparado (Angeles)
Kulturang Kapampangan award: "Matwang Dalaga" by Carlo Catu (Angeles)

A Special Citation went to "Ing Guinu Mu" by Bor Ocampo (Santa Rita) while the film "Cabatingan" by Brianne Amparado (Angeles) was named this year's runner-up.

Five to six short films from the finalists will be chosen to represent Pampanga in next year's Cinema Rehiyon Film Festival in Cagayan De Oro.

"Karug" by Gayzel Dalusung (Angeles), "EYDS" by Myron Espinosa (Mabalacat), and "Ika Mu" by Rachel Dizon (Porac) of the Munag Sumala category were also give citations.

Before the awarding of winners, a tribute to actor Rogelio Dela Rosa of Lubao was also held. He was this year's recipient of the 3rd CineKabalen Kapampangan honorary award.

Director Brillante Mendoza of San Fernando received the same award in the 1st CineKabalen Film Festival.

The 3rd CineKabalen Kapampangan Film Festival is part of the annual Sinukwan Festival by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, Foundation for Lingap Kapampangan Incorporated, Holy Angel University Center for Kapampangan Studies, the Holy Angel University Theater Guild, University of the Assumption, and Kamaru Productions.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!