CEBU CITY -- The Abellana National High School is back on track after it lost its throne to Apas National High School in last year’s Sinulog sa Kabataan sa Dakbayan, as it emerged champion in this year’s competition.

The contingent from Barangay Apas, on the other hand, landed in second place, but bagged the Best in Musicality award in the secondary division category, taking home a total of P200,000.

The Best in Costume award, with a prize of P50,000, was given to Abellana National High School, which also took home P300,000 cash for being the champion.

Walter Betito, choreographer of the Abellana National High School, said in a radio interview that he is very thankful and happy for their “comeback.” He thanked all the people who helped them achieve their victory.

“Tanan gyud nitabang, hasta ang among principal…Malipayon kaayo ko,” he said.

Named third-placer in the secondary division was Don Sergio Osmena Sr. Memorial National High School, last year’s second-placer. It took home a total of P100,000 cash.

The Tejero Night High School and Ramon Duterte Night High School landed fourth and fifth placers, respectively. A cash worth P75,000 was given to Tejero, while P50,000 cash was awarded to Ramon Duterte.

In the elementary division, declared champion was Banilad Elementary School, which also won the Best in Costume and Best in Musicality awards. It took home a total of P400,000 cash.

The other winners are: Talamban Elementary School (2nd place with P150,000 cash), Alaska Elementary School (3rd place - P100,000 cash), Tisa II Elementary School (4th place - P75,000 cash), and Quiot Elementary School (5th place - 50,000 cash).

Each of the non-winning contingents in this year’s Sinulog sa Kabataan sa Dakbayan received P5,000 worth of gift certificate from McDonalds.

Sunday’s activity was delayed due to non-stop rains. Sinulog Foundation Director Ricky Ballesteros said they even had to cancel the parade of participants, which was set at 1 p.m., for their safety.

Watch the replay of the Sinulog sa Kabataan sa Dakbayan at (Jean Mondoñedo-Ynot/Sunnex)