SUN.STAR Bacolod reporter Carla Cañet was elected president of the Negros Press Club for 2014-2015 during Saturday’s election at the Negros Media Center in Bacolod City.

Cañet garnered 54 votes against Negros Daily Bulletin columnist Manny Canto’s 30 votes.

Chrysee Samillano, reporter of Visayan Daily Star, was elected vice president with 53 votes, defeating Aquilino "Boy" Ciocon of dyAF-Radyo Veritas, who got 29 votes. Stephanie Azucena, reporter of GMA TV Bacolod, was unopposed for secretary.

Henry Cestina of dyRL won as treasurer against newbie Erwin Nicavera of GMA TV, with 39 votes as against Nicavera’s 37. Dolores Epacta, editor of the Negros Weekly, was elected auditor, also unopposed.

For the first time, the club elected nine members of the board of directors. Until last year, the club elects only five directors, however, Ranie Azue, outgoing president, explained that this provision is contained in the NPC constitution and by-laws since 2009 but the outgoing officers knew about it only recently.

Elected board of directors, all unopposed, were Mae Singuay of Panay News; Nanette Guadalquiver, Sun.Star Bacolod; Jun Julita, dyAF Radyo Veritas; Merlinda Pedrosa, Sun.Star Bacolod; Willer "Boy" Factor, Radyo Kumando; James Toga, Negros Daily Bulletin; Dolly Yasa, The Daily Guardian; Hernan Garciniego, The Visayan Daily Star; and Willy Tortosa, The Visayan Daily Star.

Cañet, in her campaign speech, said she aims for a more active club. Running under the banner Team Serbisyo, her group is composed of active media practitioners.

"We are very driven to lead the club because we want to make it better," she said.

Except for Nicavera, all nine candidates of Team Serbisyo won.*