Thursday, April 25, 2019

Pagasa: LPA in Mindanao gone

THE low pressure area (LPA) that brought continuous rains in some parts of the country for about two weeks has dissolved, the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) said.

Pagasa-Davao weather observer Honey Perez confirmed this amid earlier fears that the LPA, that turned into Tropical Depression Agaton which turned again into LPA, was gearing up to be a storm. She said affected areas by the LPA could most likely experience better weather.

"But that doesn't mean na di na uulan. Makakaranas pa rin tayo ng kaunting pag-ulan from the weather disturbance. So it would still be best kung nakahanda tayo sa lahat ng oras, alam naman natin na ang panahon ay pabago-bago," Perez said.

As of 4 a.m. Wednesday, Pagasa posted the LPA is expected to dissipate within 24 to 48 hours. The LPA was estimated based on all available data at 610 kilometer Northeast of Davao City, but this was reported to have dissolved as of 11 a.m. Wednesday. Hence, Eastern Visayas and Mindanao will be partly cloudy to cloudy with isolated showers and thunderstorms.

Strong to gale force northeasterly surface wind flow associated with the surge of the northeast monsoon is still expected to affect the seaboards of Luzon and Eastern Visayas.

The small sea crafts and fishing vessels in Luzon and Eastern Visayas were advised not to venture out into the sea due to big waves generated by the weather system.

Meanwhile, Mindanao will experience cloudy skies with light to moderate rains.

Twenty-eight towns and cities in Mindanao were declared under the state of calamity due to flooding and landslides, the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) has noted.

Areas under state of calamity are Lanao del Norte and Iligan City in Northern Mindanao and the towns of Kapalong, Carmen, Asuncion, New Corella and Tagum, Davao del Norte; and towns of Tarragona, Manay, Caraga, Baganga, Cateel and Boston, Davao Oriental.

State of calamity was also declared in Compostela Valley Province; Sta. Josefa, Sibagat, Bunawan, San Francisco, Esperanza, Veruela, Trento, Rosario of Agusan del Sur, Lianga, Tago, San Miguel and Bislig town in Surigao del Sur, Butuan City, and Agusan del Norte.

The cost of damage amounted to P369,142,178.22, with P128,513,750 in infrastructures and P240,628,428.22 in agriculture in Region 10, Davao Region and Caraga Region.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!