THE Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI) will hold its annual election of officers on Feb. 28 at Salon de Madrid, Casino Español de Cebu.

There are twelve open positions to be filled in this year’s election of the chamber’s Board of Trustees. Four are needed in the Industry sector, two for Trade, four for Service, one for ICT and one for Sectoral Association.

To run for any of the position, one must be a member of CCCI in good standing meaning that members with accounts incurred on or before Dec. 31, 2013 and which remain unpaid as of 12 p.m. on Feb. 28 will not be allowed to be voted upon for the CCCI election of trustees. The same requirements apply for those who will vote.

Those who are running for election are required to pay their annual dues for 2013 and all other prior assessments on or before 12 p.m. of Feb. 21.

Voting will be by secret ballot. The official or alternate representative of members in good standing will be the only qualified voter for the election. Deadline of submission of ballots at CCCI office will be at 12 p.m. of Feb. 28 and 2 p.m. at Casino Español.

Opening of the ballots will be at 2:01 p.m. on Feb. 28 Official candidates qualified to run for election per sector for the 2014 Elections of CCCI’s Board of Trustees have been named. Five nominees are contending to represent the industry sector namely: Nelson Basconces of Central Seafoods, Inc.; Michael Basubas of Diamond Cane International, Inc.; Gil Zaire Carungay of Avatar Accessories, Inc.; Consul Antonio Chiu of Nutrivalue Technologies, Inc.; and Felix Tiukinhoy, Jr. of Virginia Food, Inc.

For the Trade sector, nominees are Arnel Almira of Alfa-All Food Asia, Inc.; Ma. Teresa Chan of DFC Distributors Corp.; and Francis Dy of Greenworld LED Solutions.

Eight candidates are vying to represent the chamber’s Service sector namely: Francis Monera of Cebu Holdings, Inc.; Lilu Aliño of Lilu Advertising and Marketing Solutions; architect Benjamin Avila of Avila Architects; Genaro Guadalquiver, Jr. of Manila Bulletin Publishing Corp. – Cebu Branch; Fr. Dionisio Miranda of University of San Carlos; Edwin Ortiz of Able Services, Inc.; Chito Recamadas of Asalus Corp. and Felix Taguiam of Deco Sales, Inc.

For the ICT sector, only Jimmy Chua of the Philippine Long Distance Telephone (PLDT) Company was qualified to run whereas two candidates are contending to be part of the Sectoral Association namely Cenelyn Manguilimotan of Cebu Parklane International Hotel and Pablo Yap, Jr. of Junrex Cellphones and Accessories. (PR)