OUTSTANDING alumni of the University of the Philippines (UP) Cebu in various fields of endeavor were given recognition last Wednesday night.

Sun.Star Cebu executive editor and Sun.Star Superbalita editor-in-chief Michelle P. So was among the 21 whose achievements were recognized in the “Tatak UP Awards 2014,” which was initiated by the UP Alumni Association Cebu Chapter (UPAACC).

So is the lone awardee from the media industry.

The biennial award was presented by Dr. Lelani Echaves-Paredes, the Tatak UP search and awards committee chairperson, at the Cebu Provincial Capitol’s social hall.

Paredes is also a Sun.Star Cebu columnist.

Cebu Gov. Hilario Davide III and his wife, Joebelle, were among the guests. Both are UP graduates.

“Graduating from UP is no small feat. I stayed there for four years,” said Davide in a speech. “I have always carried with great pride the mark or tatak of a UP alumnus...We owe our education to the Filipino people.”

The other awardees were Dr. Erlinda Alburo, Dr. Hope Sabanpan-Yu, Javy Villacin, Errol Marabiles, and Mariano Vidal in the fields of arts, design, and culture; lawyer Manuel Go, lawyer Jasmine Oporto, and Sr. Insp. Maria Theresa Macatangay in the law, public service and governance cluster; and Engr. Zoilo Cortes and Engr. Virgilio Abellana in the science and technology.

Alburo and Yu are editors of the book, “Brown Child: The Best of the Faigao Poetry and Fiction,” published by the University of San Carlos (USC) Press.

In the fields of social change and advocacy, Dr. Rhodora Bucoy, lawyer Ian Vincent Manticajon, May Segura-Ybañez, and Edna Lee were given awards.

Dr. Crispin Diaz, Dr. Jesusito Zubiri, and Dr. Gaudencio Hermosisima (posthumous) were recognized for their contributions in health and medicine; and Engr. William Christopher Liu Jr. and Dr. Florian Alburo in business.

The other lone awardee in the education category was Dr. Sofia Aliño-Logarta, who was Davide’s teacher.

After Logarta stepped down from the stage, Davide was among those people who congratulated her and he even escorted her up to her table drawing applause from the audience.

vide also inducted 14 members of the UPAACC board of trustees for 2014 until 2016.