Sunday, April 21, 2019

GMA wins Best TV Network plum in NW Samar State U tilt

TAKING home the competition’s top honor, GMA Network was named the Best TV Network with Balanced Programming in the 5th Northwest Samar State University Students’ Choice Award for Radio and Television (NSCART).

The Kapuso Network also swept 20 other major awards in the NSCART ceremony held on March 6 at the Socio Cultural Center of Northwest Samar State University (NwSSU) in Calbayog City.

GMA’s flagship primetime newscast, 24Oras, won the Best News and Public Affairs Program award. News anchors Mel Tiangco and Mike Enriquez were respectively lauded as the Best Female and Male News and Public Affairs Anchors.

Enriquez was also recognized as Best Investigative Journalism Program Host for Imbestigador, which was awarded as Best Investigative Journalism Program.

Jessica Soho, for her part, was recognized as the Best Magazine Program Host for the TV news magazine, Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho. The top-rating weekend show was also hailed as the Best Magazine Program.

I-Witness received the Best Documentary Program award, while broadcast journalist Kara David won the Best Documentary Program Host accolade.

Unang Hirit and its host Arnold Clavio were named the Best Morning Show and Best Morning Show Host, respectively. Wish Ko Lang was awarded the Best Public Service Program, with Vicky Morales earning the Best Public Service Program Host trophy.

GMA entertainment personalities and programs were also cited in this year’s NSCART led by Primetime Queen Marian Rivera, who won the Best Actress in a Primetime Teleserye award for the Pinoy adaptation of the top-rating drama Temptation of Wife.

Bubble Gang was named the Best Comedy Program. Celebrity Bluff and its host Eugene Domingo were honored as the Best Game Show and Best Comedy Show Host, respectively. Carla Abellana took home the Best Variety Show Host award for the musical variety show Sunday All Stars.

The country’s longest-running noontime show, Eat Bulaga, was acknowledged as Best Noontime Variety Show, while host Vic Sotto was named Best Noontime Variety Show Host.

The Northwest Samar State University Students’ Choice Award for Radio and Television is an annual event that recognizes excellence in broadcast media arts. (PR)

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!