SURIGAO CITY -- Three strong earthquakes hit anew the province of Surigao del Sur on Sunday, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) reported.

The first tremor, with a 5.5 magnitude, hit the province at 3:05 a.m. Intensity II was felt in Surigao City.

The quake has a depth of 8 kilometers (km) and was located at 118 km northeast of Cortes, Surigao del Sur.


(Courtesy: Phivolcs)

Another earthquake, 4.6-magnitude, jolted the province at 3:44 a.m. on the same day. The tremor has a depth of 12 km and was located at 79 km northeast of Cortes.


(Courtesy: Phivolcs)

Ten minutes later, at 3:55 a.m., a magnitude 4.8 earthquake hit the province with the same epicenter. This time, the tremor has a depth of 8 km.


(Courtesy: Phivolcs)

In its bulletin, Phivolcs said the three tremors were aftershocks of the 5.6-magnitude earthquake that rattled Surigao City on May 30.

The earthquakes were all tectonic in origin.

The agency added that were no reported damages. (Sunnex)