EDSEL Montoya was crowned solo champion and pocketed the P15,000 top prize of the Cebu Executives and Professionals Chess Association-organized Mayor Michael Rama Chess Cup 2014 at the SM City-Cebu Event Center Sunday.

Montoya finished the nine-round Swiss System tournament with 8.5 points after allowing a single draw that prevented him from scoring a perfect 9.0 points.

Montoya, seeded eighth at the start of the tournament, pulled another unexpected victory against third seed Eden Diano in their eighth-round match then capitalized on the waning time of his ninth round opponent Johnnel Balquin of Cagayan de Oro City.

Diano recovered from his loss to Montoya and defeated Fide Master Anthony Makinano in the ninth round to lead the three-way tie at the second to fourth places together with NM Merben Roque and Rhenzi Kyle Sevillano. All three scored 7.5 points.

Roque and Sevillano drew in the final round after they beat Venancio Loyloa and Makinano respectively, in the eighth round.

IM Kim Steven Yap shared the fifth to the 10th places with Bryle Arellano, Balquin, Loyola, NM Arnolito Cadiz and Glicerio Pardillo after scoring 7.0 points. Ramil Wadim, Yves Christian Fiel, Allan Pason, IM Barlo Nadera, NM Rogelio Enriquez Jr., Richard Natividad, Ceferino Visco, Christian Pondoyo, Hector Villamor, Felix Shaun Balbona and Erwin de la Cerna occupied the 11th to the 21st places after 6.5 points.

Makinano, Erwin Ababat, Joel Pacuribot, Chris Aldritz Pondoyo, Mark Mangubat, Michael Joseph Pagaran, Armecito Lumbab, Jiame Joshua Frias, Rommel Ganzon, Joyce Lagrosas, Diego Abraham Claro, Allan Salientes, Peterson Sia, Vince Balena, Allan Cantonjos and Aldwin Daculan all scored 6.0 points to complete the top 30.

The winners of the special awards were NM Cadiz (7.0), Peterson Sia (6.0) and Jojo Muralla (5.5) for the top three Cepca members; Ababat (6.0), Joyce Lagrosas (6.0) and Carlos Moreno III (5.5) for the top seniors finishers; Sevillano (7.5), Pason (6.5), Felix Shaun Balbona (6.5) and Christian Pondoyo (6.5) for the top juniors players.

Chris Aldritz Pondoyo (6.0), Edsel Vosotros (5.5) and James Felmanyo Diloy (5.5) finished as the top three kiddies players; and Airene Robillos (5.5), Jocel Bucog (5.5), Laila Nadera (5.0), Jessa Marie Balbona (5.0), Marvie Abucay (5.0) and Marivelle Lumayag (5.0) were the top ladies players.