THE Iloilo City Council has approved the naming of two new national highways after President Benigno Aquino III’s parents in support of two House bills sponsored by five Iloilo congressmen.

Councilor Nielex Tupas filed a resolution endorsing the passage of House Bill 4400 or an Act naming as “President Cory C. Aquino Avenue” the new circumferential road that commences at the junction of the Iloilo-Dumangas Coastal Road to Balabago, Jaro district, Iloilo City, then follows a general westward direction along the Floodway south bank toward Buhang, Jaro; Tacas, Jaro and Ungka II, Pavia, then traverses the southwards to the Mandurriao district, Iloilo City-Pavia-San Miguel tri-border and ends at the Iloilo-Antique Road near the center of Arevalo district, Iloilo City.

Tupas also filed a resolution endorsing the passage of House Bill 4398 or an Act naming as the “Senator Benigno S. Aquino Jr. Avenue” a stretch of the national highway along the Iloilo Diversion Road-Iloilo Capiz Road or the old route that begins at the junction of Gen. Luna to the airport access road and ends at the gate of the Iloilo International Airport, traversing the municipalities of Pavia, Sta. Barbara and Cabatuan in the province and city of Iloilo.

The circumferential road is a four-lane national highway expected to open potential economic opportunities to a number of communities growing around the areas.

The renaming of the circumferential road is in recognition of works done by the late President Corazon Aquino in pursuing reconciliation and unity of the nation as well as preserving the freedom regained from the past regimes.

The 16.6 kilometers Senator Benigno S. Aquino Jr. Avenue, on the other hand, is a fitting tribute to the late senator for his long struggle to attain the freedom the country is now enjoying.

Both House bills were sponsored by Iloilo first district Representative Oscar Richard Garin, Representative Arcadio H. Gorriceta (second district), Representative Jerry P. Treñas (Iloilo City lone district), Representative Arthur R. Defensor Jr. (third district), Representative Hernan G. Biron (fourth district), and Representative Niel C. Tupas Jr. (fifth district).