AMID calls for Malacanang to speedup the transmittal of the proposed Bangsamoro Basic Law in Congress, the House leadership on Wednesday said the measure is expected to be tackled in the chamber in July.

In a statement, House Speaker Feliciano Belmonte said he had discussed the matter with President Benigno Aquino III, where he was told that the Palace has already practically completed its review of proposal.

"I am not certain that there is anything to be gain by giving it to us during our final one week… I don’t know kung ano ang kanilang strategy doon pero for us here for sure we will not be able to discuss it until after the opening of the session that’s why its unfair to all of us if we were to start discussing on a piecemeal basis within the remaining three days of the session," Belmonte said.

Despite criticisms from House lawmakers, particularly from the independent minority bloc, over delayed transmittal of the proposal to Congress, Belmonte said that there is no need to rush since the chamber is looking to pass the Bangsamoro Basic Law before the year ends.

"Wala because iyong deadline naman end of the year eh, and we are still hopeful that we will be able to tackle it by the end of this year," the Speaker said.

On Tuesday, lawmakers led by Leyte Representative Ferdinand Martin Romualdez have urged Malacañang to fast track the transmittal of the bill to give lawmakers enough time to scrutinize the proposed measure.

Last April, House deputy majority floor leader Rodolfo Fariñas said that the prosecution team tapped in the impeachment of Chief Justice Renato Corona will be revived to form part of the team that will place the bill under strict legal study.

The lawmaker from Ilocos Norte earlier said the Corona prosecution team has been alerted by the House leadership on the Bangsamoro proposal but its exact role has not been confirmed.

Aside from Fariñas, the House leadership is also expected to tap the following to share their legal expertise on the Bangsamoro measure and these include Deputy Speaker Giorgidi Aggabao (Isabela) and Representatives Elpidio Barzaga (Cavite), Sherwin Tugna (CIBAC Party-list), Rey Umali (Mindoro Oriental), Marlyn Agabas (Pangasinan), Neri Colmenares (Bayan Muna Partylist), Kaka Bag-ao (Dinagat Island), and committee on justice chairman Niel Tupas (Iloilo).

The bill is expected to be referred to the committees on local government, Muslim Affairs, revision of laws and peace, unification and reconciliation.

The Bangsamoro Transition Authority is expected to convene by January 2015 if the proposed law is approved in the plebiscite, and no petitions were filed before the Supreme Court.

Election of officials of the new Bangsamoro autonomous government will be held to coincide with the national and local polls in 2016. (Sunnex)