ELITE riders from here an abroad have enlisted in the first leg of the Asean MTB Cup 2014 slated on June 13 to 15 in Danao City.

After nine years of absence, the Asean MTB Cup returns to Danao and with just a week left before the race starts, 73 riders from Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Australia, Germany, and USA. While more than 100 local riders from Manila, Butuan, Davao, and Cebu have also registered.

The Philippine national team, on the other hand, will be sending representatives in both men’s and women’s division led by Cebuano national team mountain biker Niño Surban, who bagged home gold in the Philippine National Games (PNG) along with John Renee Mier, who won a silver in the PNG U23 division. The Philippines will also have three female riders in the event.

The Asean MTB Cup will have UCI International Commissaires Singaporean Max Mager, Malaysians Beatrice Lajawa and Geoffrey Kronenberg, and in the Philippines Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez who is also the race director. Several National Commissaires from Malaysia and the Philippines are also coming to ensure that UCI rules and regulations are followed.

More than P200,000 cash prizes are at stake, while a Cube 27.5 mountain bike will be raffled off to the early registrants.

Late registration will still be accepted until today at www.aseanmtbcup.com and in major bike stores in Cebu.