CEBUANO booters continue to dominate the national scene after the Cebu Elite Under-12 Football team bagged the championship title in an invitational tournament in Dipolog City.

The team stunned the Philippine Football Federation Philippine Under-12 National Team (Vis-Min), 3-0, to secure the Gov. Roberto Y. Uy Under-12 Invitational Football Cup last May 31.

The team started out strong with a 9-0 win over the Misamis Occidental- Ozamis Football Association, before losing 2-0, to Zamboanga del Norte’s Palarong Pambansa team. They made up for it with a 12-0 win over Cagayan de Oro City-Bukidnon team.

Cebu Elite Under-12 Football Team is a grassroots program of the Cebu Football Association (FCA). It was formed last March after several weeks of try-outs amongst the best under-12 players in Cebu.

Making up the team are Josh Rupert Asignar, Froi Andreon Custado, Tristan Karl Endad, Paul Vincent Mapula, Yuan Josemarie Rena, Charles Clarence Unabia and Vincent Kristi Ybañez from Don Bosco Technology Center; Nathan Gamaliel Bajarias, Jacob Alexander Braun, Julian Matheu Cabatingan from Ateneo De Cebu; Louie Arreglo, Berne Justin Cimafranca, Nino Gianpaolo Pastrana from Sacred Heart School-HIjas de Jesus; Keith Owen Fernanadez and Hiroshi Iwanaga from Bright Academy; Earl John Patron from University of San Carlos Montessori; Luis Gabriel Roxas of PAREF Springdale School and Karl John Pacada of Lawaan Elementary School.

The CFA is targeting the Cebu's Elite Team to be a long-term program and hopes to form a strong Under-17 team in five-year’s time.

According to Dr. Alvin Roxas, one of the parent-coordinators, they look to bring the team to more tournaments including in one in Singapore in November. (Nheru Veraflor and John Cavin Sabonsolin, USJ-R MassCom Interns)