BAGUIO City will commemorate the 116th anniversary of Philippine independence on June 12 with a simple program set 8:30 a.m. at the Baguio Convention Center.

Mayor Mauricio Domogan will keynote the traditional program, which will focus on the theme, “Pagsunod sa Yapak ng mga Dakilang Pilipino, Tungo sa Malawakan at Permanenteng Pagbabago (Following the Footsteps of Great Filipinos, Towards Widespread and Lasting Change).”

The highlight of the program will be the reading of the excerpts and accounts of the Philippine Independence to be led by Representative Nicasio Aliping Jr., Vice Mayor Edison Bilog and members of the City Council.

The accounts will be reenacted through songs and dances by the Baguio City National High School Special Program in the Arts and Chorale.

The program will begin with the procession of guests and entry of colors to be led by the Baguio City Police Office.

The singing of the National Anthem will be led by the Baguio City Hall Chorale while the pledge of allegiance to the Filipino flag will be presided by the war veterans and the Boy and Girl Scouts of the Philippines.

Bishop Carlito Cenzon of the Baguio Diocese will lead the prayer.

An intermission will be rendered by the St. Louis University Center for Culture and the Arts Dance Troupe.

After the program, the traditional parade will follow, to be participated in by the government and non-government sectors divided in five divisions.

The first division will include the city officials, military officials, department heads and assistant department heads, other local and national officials (governors/congressmen and guests), regional directors, religious leaders, school heads and Department of Education officials, BCPO contingent,

Bureau of Jail Management and Penology Jail Management, Fire Station, law enforcement and reservists contingent, city employees, employees of national/regional offices and public school principals and teachers.

The second division will be composed of the contingents from of senior citizens, veterans, retirees and religious groups while the third will be composed of the Association of Barangay Councils, the barangay delegation and the BSP and GSP.

The fourth group will be made up of the National Students Training Program and the academe while the fifth will be composed of the foreign communities, business sector and the private sector. (Aileen Refuerzo)