THE Gaisano Capital Group of Companies-backed Batch 1999 ruled supreme as they won the Cebu Eastern College Alumni Basketball Association (Cecaba) 13th Dr. Chen Lieh Fu Memorial Cup title at the CEC Gym last Thursday.

It was a “no sweat” victory for Batch ‘99 who bagged the trophy with literally no resistance as its finals opponents, the First Family Appliance Circle forfeited Game 2 of the best-of-3 championship series, yielding the championship series 2-0.

The Gaisano Capital Group/Jepoy Express ‘99 won Game 1, 95-82, in a game that saw Batch ‘94 repeatedly complaining for bad officiating.

In that game, Mark Bukiron was unstoppable as he scored 41 points, while former UE Red Warriors guard Ean Saguindel contributed 27. Ruben Yap Jr. and Albert Uy also had seizable contributions with their combined 23 points productions.

With Batch ‘94 forfeiture, Gaisano Capital Group/Jepoy Express ‘99 finished the season with unbeaten record of 19-0 in the four-month long tournament.

They managed to sweep its 13 elimination round games and continued to play hard in the playoffs round en route to winning six more games to win the championship.

The other participating teams includes Gaisano Capital ’95, Argentina Corned Beef 80s/90s A; Fil-Ann Enterprises 80s/90s B; Dewfoam 1988; Batch 1997; Kaking 1998; Batch 2000; Dunkin Donuts 2004; PTT Fuels & Lubricants 2005; Batch 2006; The 1st Family Appliance Circle Corp 2007 and Cebu Dragons 2009.

Noticeably absent this season was Cecaba founder Chester Cokaliong. RCM